In today's fast-paced world, people find themselves rushing from place to place during their busy days. It is normal to run several errands to multiple locations during any given day and most people do this in their own private vehicle. Individuals who have infant children must use child safety seats wherever they go with their kids. It is not only a good idea, but also required by law.
In California, children under 2 years of age must ride in a rear-facing car seat in the back seat unless that child weighs more that 40 pounds, or is more than 40 inches tall. If a child exceeds this height and weight requirement, he or she must then be secured in a car seat, or booster seat until the age of 8. Again, these seats must be placed in the back seat of a car. It isn't until a child is 8 years old, or has reached 4'9" in height that he or she can ride using only an adult seatbelt. It is mandatory that passengers over the age of 16 must wear adult seat belts.
It is further recommended that a child should be kept in a car seat or booster seat for as long as possible. Even though it may sound like a good idea to move a child from a smaller car seat to a larger one, the California Highway Patrol advises to keep your child in a car seat for as long as the manufacturer recommends it. In other words, if a child seat manufacturer places a limit on how large a child can be to use a particular seat, then parents should keep their children in those seats until they reach that limit. It's all about child safety.
Copyright © 2021. All rights reserved.